wanderchar

I narrate my travels to my Grandma Self. Hopefully, the internet still exists then so she can read these.

Turkey: Antalya And Instanbul

JANUARY 24 – FEBRUARY 8 2013

Dear Grandma Self,

Remember when your little sister was part of the national team sent to Antalya, Turkey to compete in the 25th World Schools Debating Championships (WSDC 2013)? The ‘rents wouldn’t let their “baby” travel alone so Big Bossy Sis got to play chaperone (and “team coach” which I sucked at because I knew nothing about debating before the trip and people there seemed to think I was a little too young to be a coach).

I did not get to see Antalya much mainly because I had to be present during the debates, which I admit are eye-opening, inspiring, but incredibly boring for someone like me who finds it difficult to sit still and listen to people argue about world issues all day. Don’t get me wrong. I learned a lot. I often forget I was listening to high school kids. But I’d rather be exploring the city than sitting in a university.

We did get to tour Antalya. We visited an ampitheatre, an aqueduct, waterfalls and the ruins of Perge. I also experienced getting on a bus and not knowing when or where to get off. Found ourselves two stops from a mall. Sheer luck! Learned Turkish like the word “Indirim” which means “sale”. At 70% off, everything was still so expensive!

But the real adventure began when I went to Istanbul. In Istanbul, there was no more debating, only sightseeing, shopping and getting lost. So, without further ado, here are some of the memories I captured on my brand new iPhone 5! No edits because the camera is THAT clear! *wink*

ANTALYA

Turkey

Ampitheatre

The Ruins of Perge

The Ruins of Perge

The Marina

The Marina

A sailing ship

A sailing ship

Spices abound!

Spices abound!

Walking through Hadrian's Wall

Walking through Hadrian’s Wall

A quaint shop! Love it!

A quaint shop! Love it!

ISTANBUL

The view from my hotel window

The view from my hotel window

Inside the Blue Mosque

Inside the Blue Mosque

The Hagia Sophia...

The Hagia Sophia…

...and the wonders we found inside!

…and the wonders we found inside!

Take me on a magic carpet ride?

Take me on a magic carpet ride?

Clearly, I shopped til I dropped. It was a work out zipping my suitcase shut.

Clearly, I shopped til I dropped. It was a work out zipping my suitcase shut.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2013 by in Turkey and tagged , , , , , , , , , .